St. Nikolaus Fest
The German Heritage Museum begins the Advent season with its annual St. Nikolaus Fest on Sunday, December 5, from 1 to 5 PM. St. Nikolaus is getting ready for St. Nikolaus Day (Monday the 6th) but will leave candy canes for children on the front porch. German Christmas songs will be sung by members of the German-American Citizens League, which maintains the German Heritage Museum. There also will be a German Christmas Playmobil diorama on display, presented by David Dalton. The number of persons inside the museum will be monitored and face masks are required. It is located in West Fork Park at4764 West Fork Road, Cincinnati, Ohio 45247.
The German Heritage Museum
This museum, located in West Fork Park, is the repository of historical artifacts and records of the contributions of the many German-Americans who have made Cincinnati the great place it is today.
The Museum is supported by the Friends of the German Heritage Museum.
Please mail your membership or contribution to:
3258 Hanna Avenue
Cincinnati, Ohio 45211
German Heritage Museum
4764 West Fork Road
Cincinnati, OH 45247
or call (513) 598-5732
6829 Westin Ridge
Cleves, OH 45002
The German Heritage Museum serves as the focal point in presenting and displaying German-American culture. This museum is the first of its kind in the region, and a testament to the many contributions German immigrants and their descendants have made toward the building of the Ohio Valley and America. The museum focuses especially on representing the long history of German-Americans in the Greater Cincinnati area, which became, and remains one of the major German-American centers in the United States. In addition, displays also showcase the activities of the many organizations currently under the umbrella of the German-American Citizens League of Greater Cincinnati, founded in Cincinnati in 1895.
The building materials for the German Heritage Museum were donated to the German-American Citizens League by the Feist family of Delhi Township. The museum had an earlier life as a log house, built around 1840. The entire house was moved, piece by piece, to West Fork Park and has been reconstructed as the German Heritage Museum In 2020 the Museum underwent a renovation of both its exterior and interior, with an eye to the continued preservation of the structure for future generations.